Chetan retained as chairman of selectors, Ankola, Das and Banerjee in panel

New Delhi, Jan 7 (PTI) Chetan Sharma was on Saturday reappointed as the chairman of the senior selection committee, exactly two months after his entire panel was disbanded by the BCCI for the Indian team’s semifinal exit in the T20 World Cup.

Chetan’s new team, though, would have entirely new faces with junior chairman of selectors S Sharath of South Zone being promoted. The others in the panel are former seamer Subroto Banerjee from East Zone, Salil Ankola from West Zone and Test opener Shiv Sunder Das from the Central zone.

Das qualified from Central for being a former Vidarbha player after he finished playing for Odisha.

“Central and East are two such zones where there aren’t too many worthy names. Hence BCCI had to use the best possible option. Das’s Vidarbha representation made him eligible from Central Zone,” a BCCI source explained the rationale behind the move.

Also with Bengal’s Ranadeb Bose being in junior panel, the convention was to have someone from another eastern state.

“Subroto had played for Bengal but better part of his cricket, he played for erstwhile Bihar. So that solved the issue,” he added.

Chetan’s last committee colleague, Harvinder Singh, also reapplied but wasn’t considered after the interview as he was believed to be not up to the mark.


Source: PTI News


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news