Sri Lanka continued their unbeaten run with an eight wicket victory over Netherlands at the T20 World Cup

(Cricket news) Despite the 2014 champions already being assured of a Super 12 spot with victories against Namibia and Ireland, Sri Lanka put up an uncomplacent performance against minnows Netherlands to record an eight wicket victory at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The Lions reduced Netherlands to a total score of 44, the second lowest in the history of the T20 World Cup in only 10 overs with bowlers Maheesh Theekshana (2-3), Wanindu Hasaranga (3-9) and Lahiru Kumara (3-7) putting on superb displays.

Ironically, the lowest ever score in T20 World Cup history was by the Netherlands against Sri Lanka in 2014 with the Dutch team posting 39 runs and were dismantled by Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews. For Netherlands, only Colin Ackermann (11) reached double figures this time around with Theekshana taking the wickets of Ben Cooper (9) and Stephan Myburgh (5) while Hasaranga took the wickets of Ackermann, Bas de Leede (0) and Pieter Seelaar (2). 

Despite a poor start by the Netherlands that saw them reduced to 44-7 at the beginning of the ninth over, the European team were all out six balls later with not a single run scored as Scott Edwards (8), Brandon Glover (0) and Paul van Meekeren (0) were all dismissed by Kumara’s pacy bowling.

Sri Lanka completed the chase with 77 balls to spare despite losing Pathum Nissanka (0) and Charith Asalanka (6). Kusal Perera (33 runs off 24 balls) scored six fours and got the winning runs for The Lions who will next face Bangladesh on Sunday.

Also read: Top 5 players to miss out of the T20 World Cup this year


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply