Tata Steel wins The CII Beach Soccer 2021

According to a press release by Odisha FC, Tata Steel have won the Beach Soccer 2021, beating Paradeep Port Trust 2-1 in a penalty shootout in the final match at Chandrabhaga Sea Beach in Konark. Sunando Sen from Team Nalco was awarded the Player of the Tournament. Minister at Department of Industries, MSME, Home and Energy, Government of Odisha Capt. Dibya Shankar Mishra attended the closing ceremony and felicitated the champions title. The first of its kind beach football tournament in Odisha was organised by the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) in collaboration with Department of Tourism, Government of Odisha with Odisha Football Club (OFC) being the Technical Partner of the event. The tournament was aimed at amalgamating football and the stunning coastline of the State. Rajiv Kumar, Chairman, CII Beach Soccer and Immediate Past Chairman, Odisha State Council said “We are delighted to see the huge response that the first edition of Beach Soccer has received. It’s the team spirit of the players that made this initiative a grand success.” Elaborating further about the tournament, Suvam Das, Grassroots Manager of Odisha FC said, “It was really an amazing experience to be a part of the Beach Soccer 2021. We, at Odisha FC, have a plan to take the sport to every corner of Odisha and this is a good step in that direction. We thank CII and Odisha Tourism for all the support and would definitely want to play an important role in all such football-related events in Odisha in the future. I want to thank our fans The Juggernauts as well for their hard work throughout the tournament and each and everyone involved.” The event was inaugurated on Monday with prominent footballers like Sradhanjali Samantaray and Ranjita Mohanty along with Saikat Roy Chowdhury (Regional Director – East and North East, CII), Mr. Binaya Dash (Additional District Magistrate, Puri) and members from CII Odisha state council and Odisha FC being present at the event. A total of 10 teams like Odisha Tourism, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd, CSM, Nalco, Tata Steel, Paradeep Phosphates Limited, Paradeep Port Trust, Odisha Power Transmission Corporation, Jindal Steel and Power (JSPL) and Gupta Power had participated in the tournament.


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news