Raghav Dhawan puts Himachal in command vs Haryana

Rohtak, Dec 14 (PTI) Raghav Dhawan completed his maiden first-class century as Himachal Pradesh declared their first innings at a massive 487 for four on day two of their Ranji Trophy Group A match against Haryana here on Wednesday.

The 35-year-old Dhawan, unbeaten on 86 on the opening day, ended up scoring 182 runs as Himachal piled on the misery of Haryana, who were bundled out for just 46 runs on Tuesday.

Haryana were 72 for 1 at stumps in their second innings and they trail their opponents by 369 runs at the Chaudhary Bansi Lal Stadium.

With two full days of play left, Himachal would be fancying their chances of a bonus point should they score an innings win.

The hero of the day, however, was Dhawan whose workman-like 182 and his mammoth 219-run opening stand with Prashant Chopra (137) laid the platform for the huge score.

Dhawan hit 22 boundaries and two sixes and consumed a staggering 359 balls for his 182. Chopra, on the other hand, played a more entertaining knock scoring his 137 off 181 balls at a strike rate of nearly 76.

Dhawan was finally dismissed by off-spinner Jayant Yadav at the fag end of the day with Yuvraj Singh taking the catch. The declaration came soon after with Yuvraj again taking a catch, this time off left-arm spinner Chaitanya Bishnoi’s bowling, to dismiss Amit Kumar, who missed a century by just 19 runs.

Haryana, after the pain of a sub-50 score in the first innings, started confidently in the second innings with Bishnoi unbeaten on 41, though he lost his partner Yuvraj on 21 with pace bowler Sidharth Sharma getting an LBW decision in his favour. Skipper Himanshu Rana (6) was the other batsman at the crease.

Brief scores: At Rohtak: Haryana 46 and 72/1 in 23 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 41 batting) vs Himachal Pradesh 487/4 decl in 130.2 overs (Raghav Dhawan 182, Prashant Chopra 137, Amit Kumar 81; Chaitanya Bishnoi 2/15). Haryana trail by 369 runs.

At Cuttack: Odisha 457 in 154.2 overs (Shantanu Mishra 61, Abhishek Raut 70, Debabrata Pradhan 89, Subham Nayak 82; Bhargav Bhatt 3/116, Ninad Rathva 5/106) vs Baroda 77 for no loss in 25 overs (Jyotsnil Singh 43 batting, Pratyush Kumar 31 batting). Baroda trail by 380 runs.

At Kolkata: Uttar Pradesh 198 and 122/4 in 36 overs (Rinku Singh 44 batting, Akshdeep Nath 47 batting) vs Bengal 169 in 43.3 overs (Abishek Porel 33, Akash Deep 41; Shivan Mavi 6/55). UP lead by 151 runs.

At Sovima: Uttarakhand 282 in 78 overs vs Nagaland 280/3 in 97 overs (Yugandhar Singh 73, Shrikant Mundhe 109 batting). Nagaland trail by 2 runs.

Source: PTI News


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply