LaLiga clubs now have 35 UEFA titles in the 21st century 

LaLiga is by far the most successful league in terms of European championships in the 21st century

(Football News) ‘There’s a sense of destiny about Sevilla FC:’ LaLiga Santander clubs have now won more UEFA titles than every other league combined. Sevilla FC’s Europa League victory means LaLiga Santander teams have won 35 of the last 68 European trophies. 

Sevilla FC fans are celebrating another Europa League title, as the Andalusian club have won the trophy for the seventh time. They’ve done so by defeating Roma on penalties in a match that ended 1-1 after 120 minutes. It was Gonzalo Montiel who fired Los Hispalenses to their seventh Europa League success, scoring the winning penalty, just as he did for Argentina in the World Cup final. 

This victory means another European trophy is returning to Spanish soil. 

LaLiga Santander sides have lifted 35 of the 68 major UEFA trophies of the 21st century, meaning they’ve won more than every other league combined. Of the 22 Champions League finals played this century, there have been 10 Spanish successes, while 12 of the 23 Europa League or UEFA Cup finals were also won by teams from Spain. This has meant that 16 of the 22 UEFA Super Cups held this century have featured at least one Spanish side, with 13 victories.

What’s more, LaLiga clubs have won their last 18 European finals (Champions League & Europa League) against foreign rivals, a run which stretches back over 20 years to 2001. 

This week’s Europa League was the 68th major UEFA trophy put up for grabs in the 21st century, after 22 editions of the UEFA Super Cup, 22 completed Champions League campaigns, 23 Europa League or UEFA Cup finals and one final of the Conference League. 

Of these 68 major UEFA titles, LaLiga Santander clubs have won 35 of them, while the next closest league is the Premier League with 22 fewer European trophies in this time, as English sides have claimed 13 this century. Then, six were won by Italian clubs, six by German clubs, three by Portuguese clubs, three by Russian clubs, one by Ukrainian clubs and one by Dutch clubs. 

The 35 Spanish triumphs in Europe have been achieved by six different clubs. Real Madrid have the most with 11, followed by Sevilla FC with eight, FC Barcelona with seven, Atlético de Madrid with six, Valencia CF with two and Villarreal CF with one. Three other Spanish clubs have reached UEFA finals in this time too, namely Deportivo Alavés, RCD Espanyol and Athletic Club.

Sevilla FC’s victory now means that there will be five Spanish clubs in next year’s Champions League, more than any other country. The Andalusian club will join FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético de Madrid and Real Sociedad in the UEFA Champions League next season.

Also read: Manchester City in talks to sign Mateo Kovacic


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply