IPL Match 29: Dhawan & Rabada star as DC thrash PBKS by 7 wickets

Delhi Capitals moved on top of the table  after defeating Punjab Kings by 7 wickets as Shikhar Dhawan and Kasigo Rabada's heroics outshone Mayank Agarwal's brilliant knock at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday.

Chasing PBKS' 166/6, the in-form openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan yet again fired the DC scoreboard with their promising starts as the duo shared an exhilarating 63 run partnership for the first wicket in the power play. Shaw scored 39 runs off 22 balls, lacing it with 3 fours and 3 maximums before falling prey to PBKS rising star Harpreet Brar. To ensure DC finishes ahead of a struggling PBKS, Dhawan, once again played the anchoring role in chase at the start and  accelerated later, after the dismissal of Shaw and Steve Smith. Dhawan notched up another fine innings with his unbeaten 69 of 47 that helped DC continue their dominating run at the tournament and cruise to an easy 7 wicket win over PBKS.

Earlier, DC skipper Rishabh Pant had asked PBKS to bat first. PBKS were without their in-form captain KL Rahul who was ruled out after being diagnosed with appendicitis. Nevertheless, stand-in skipper Mayank Agarwal led from the front and powered the Kings to a decent total. Agarwal slammed an unbeaten 99 runs of 58 balls to lift the struggling PBKS' spirits and guided them to a fighting 166/6.

kagiso-rabada-1 IPL Match 29: Dhawan & Rabada star as DC thrash PBKS by 7 wickets

DC bowlers displayed a disciplined bowling performance to keep PBKS' scoring at check.  Capitals bowling attack, spearheaded by Kagiso Rabada took early wickets and kept things tight for the strong PBKS batting line up during the Powerplay. After perishing Prabhsimran Singh (12 runs off 16 balls) cheaply in the 4th over, Rabada got the better of Chris Gayle as the Caribbean powerhouse fell after scoring just 13 off 9. The Protea pacer then claimed his third and final wicket in the form of Chris Jordan in the 19th over. Rabada finished his impressive four over spell with the figures of 3/36 while Axar Patel and Avesh Khan took a wicket each.


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply