International Olympic Committee announces Olympic Golden Rings award winners

(Olympics news) The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced the winners for the best broadcast coverage of the Tokyo Olympics 2020 with the awards being presented across 12 categories: Best Coverage by the Host Broadcaster; Best Athlete Profile; Best Equality & Inclusion Content; Best Innovation; Best Olympic Digital Service; Best Olympic Feature/Documentary; Best Olympic Programme; Best On-Air Promotion; Best Social Media Content/Production; Digital Fan Engagement; Commentary; and a Lifetime Commitment Award.


IOC President Thomas Bach said: "The Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 were the most engaged Olympic Games ever and another landmark moment in sports broadcasting history. Through the IOC’s partnerships with leading media companies around the world, we are able to share the magic of the Olympic Games to inspire billions of people. Our close partnership with our broadcasters is a great reflection that we can only go faster, we can only aim higher, we can only become stronger, if we work together – in solidarity. There were more submissions for the Golden Rings Awards than ever before, and the breadth, diversity and creativity of the production is testament to the passion and commitment of the individuals who work with us to broadcast the Olympic Games.”


Best Athlete Profile     


Gold: TV Globo – “Rayssa Leal” – Producer: Carol Oliveira – Director: Rafael Pirrho


Silver: 7Network – “Kai and Saya Sakakibara” – Producer: Nick Barrow – Director: Lewis Martin


Bronze: MARCA Claro – “Paula Pareto” – Producer: Gustavo Ramirez Beguerisse – Director: Juan Carlos Lopez de la Cerda



Best Coverage by the Host Broadcaster         


Gold: OBS – Sailing Team – Producer: Henry Mok – Director: Leon Sefton


Silver: OBS – Cycling – Mountain Bike – Producer: Chris Jensen – Director: Olivier Moser


Bronze: OBS – Surfing  Producer: Helen Borobokas – Director: Lyle Fielmich



Best Equality & Inclusion Content (Presented by Worldwide TOP Partner P&G)


Gold: NBC Universal NBC Olympics' – Coverage of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad – Producer: Rob Hyland – Director: Mike Sheehan


Silver: Televisa – Legacy of Champions: Ricardo del Real – Producer: Javier Sahagun – Director: Amaury Salyano


Bronze: Sky New Zealand – Sky's Tokyo 2020 reporting team Producer: Andrew Hawthorn – Director: Matt Quin



Best Innovation


Gold: Eurosport Discovery – The Eurosport Cube – Producer: Paul Whipps – Director: Alex Dinnin


Gold: NBC Universal – NBC Olympics' Friends and Family Integration – Producer: Lee Ann Gschwind – Director: Mike Sheehan


Bronze: NHK – Real-time sign language commentary with CG animation – Producer: Toru Ogawa – Director: Tsubasa Uchida



Best Olympic Digital Service


Gold: NBC Universal – NBC Sports – Producer: Eric Hamilton – Directors: Alexis Coble and Sam Tydings


Silver: TV Globo – Repercussion – Producer: Yas André Yasaka – Director: Chico Leao


Bronze: CBC/Radio-Canada – Full digital product experience – CBC/Radio-Canada Team



Best Olympic Feature/Documentary  


Gold: NBC Universal Imagine – Producers: Philip Parrisch, Elinore Wright, Aaron Cohen, Jack Felling – Director: Philip Parrish


Silver: Sky New Zealand – One Fern: One Hundred Years – Producer and Director: Paora Ratahi           


Bronze: 7Network – Jess Fox Gold Medal Split Screen – Producer: Nick Barrow – Director: Lewis Martin



Best Olympic Programme


Gold: NBC Universal – NBC Olympics' Coverage of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad – Producer: Rob Hyland – Director:Mike Sheehan


Silver: BBC – Today at the Games – Producer: Mike Jackson – Director: Matthew Griffiths


Bronze: France TV – Highlights of Tokyo 2020 – Producers: Pascal Golomer, Gilles Silard, Frederic Gaillard, Laurence Beyssac, Fabrice Colin – Director: Didier Fraisse



Best On-Air Promotion


Gold: France TV – Sumo – Producer: Hugues Allart – Director: Geoffroy Barbet-Massin


Silver: NBCUniversal – Tomorrow in Tokyo – Producer: Jack Felling – Director: Jack Felling


Bronze: TV Globo – Anime – Producer: Yas André Yasaka – Director: Chico Leao



Best Social Media Content/Production           


Gold: 7Network – From Little Things, Big Things Grow – Producer: Nick Barrow – Director: Lewis Martin


Silver: BBC – BBC Sport – TikTok – BBC Sport Digital Video Team     


Bronze: SBS – Tokyo 2020 Direct Cam – Producer: Lee Moon-Ki – Director: Mok Jungwoong



Digital Fan Engagement


Gold: OBS





Gold: OBS



Lifetime Commitment Award


Velitchka Nedialkova, ZDF


Organized by the International Olympic Committee, the Golden Rings award is a prestigious international competition to promote and recognize excellence in broadcasting of the Olympic Games. IOC member Anant Singh heads the international jury and is a leading professional in the film and media industry. Olympic Orders will be presented by Peter Diamond, Vice President of NBC Olympics and Besim Hasani, former President of the Kosovo Olympic Committee.


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply