Four players who can achieve milestones in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup

(Cricket news) The final of the ICC T20 World Cup is all set to take place in Dubai with Australia taking on New Zealand on November 14. New Zealand had reached the semifinals in the inaugural 2007 T20 World Cup and in the previous edition. Australia had reached the finals in 2010 and had reached the semifinals in 2007, 2012 but have never won the trophy. There are a few players who can break milestones at the final.


Tim Southee: New Zealand


Southee is set to play his 90th T20 international match in the final and needs one more wicket to overtake Lasith Malinga’s record of 107 wickets to become the second highest wicket taker in the format. Southee is currently level with Malinga with Shakib Al Hasan leading the list with 117 wickets. Southee has played 6 matches in the ongoing World Cup while taking 8 wickets and is one of the most experienced players in the side after Martin Guptill.


Martin Guptill: New Zealand


Guptill is currently the most experienced player in the side as he has played over 108 matches. Guptill is also the second highest run scorer in T20 internationals with 3119 runs, the 35 year old has scored 498 runs this year and can become the first batter from the team to score more than 500 runs in a season. Colin Munro scored 500 runs in 2018 and Guptill is only two runs away from breaking the record.


Mitchell Marsh: Australia


Marsh has scored 550 runs in 20 matches in T20 this year for Australia. He beat Aaron Finch’s record of 531 runs in 2018, Marsh scored 28 in the match against Pakistan as he looks to be the first Australian player and 10th overall to score 600 runs or more in a single season. Marsh has scored 108 runs in 4 matches at the ongoing World Cup and needs to score 50 more runs in the final to reach the 600 run mark.


Adam Zampa: Australia


Zampa has been the leading wicket taker for the team at this World Cup as he has taken 12 wickets in 6 matches. He needs four more to be the leading wicket taker of the tournament and three more to break the record of Ajantha Mendis who took 15 in the 2012 edition. Zampa has the ability to break down the batting order and needs to do the same against New Zealand in the final.


Also read: After claiming Hasan Ali's dropped catch was turning point, Babar says players can drop catches


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply