Formula 1: Max Verstappen secures dominant win in rain affected Monaco Grand Prix

Reigning Formula 1 champion Max Verstappen produced a brilliant performance to win the Monaco Grand Prix
Max Verstappen in action at the Monaco Grand Prix
Max Verstappen in action at the Monaco Grand Prix

(Motorsport) Formula 1 champion Max Verstappen displayed a dominant performance to secure the victory at the Monaco Grand Prix, overcoming rain and Fernando Alonso’s challenge. There was chaos on the track when rain began to fall with a third of the race remaining but the Dutchman showed his superb skills and great composure to navigate the wet conditions, ultimately winning the race by almost 28 seconds. Meanwhile, Alonso secured his fifth podium in six races while Ocon managed to get third place with Alpine.

The victory for Verstappen means Red Bull have now won each of their first six races of the season and the Dutchman has now overtaken Sebastian Vettel as the team’s all time leading race winner with 39 wins. Verstappen is looking to win his third consecutive world championship and has a 39 lead over teammate Sergio Perez, who finished 16th after a crash in qualifying forced the Mexican to start from the back of the grid. Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton benefitted from a timely switch to intermediate tyres when rain began falling, securing fourth place while George Russell finished fifth.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc ended up in sixth place for Ferrari while Pierre Gasly was seventh, ensuring that Alpine’s steady climb in the constructors standings continued. Carlos Sainz began the race in fourth place but a spin due to wet conditions forced the Spaniard to finish eighth while McLaren’s Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri ended up in ninth and tenth respectively. Red Bull now lead the constructors standings by 129 points before Formula 1 visits Barcelona for the Spanish Grand Prix next weekend. 

Monaco GP Race Result

1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull

2) Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin

3) Esteban Ocon, Alpine

4) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

5) George Russell, Mercedes

6) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

7) Pierre Gasly, Alpine

8) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari

9) Lando Norris, McLaren

10) Oscar Piastri, McLaren

Also read: Lewis Hamilton disappointed Mercedes not closer to front despite improvements


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news