Ashwin emerges champion in LGB Formula 4 category in JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing C’ship

Coimbatore, Dec 18 (PTI) Ashwin Datta of Dark Don Racing emerged as champion in the LGB Formula 4 category at the final round of 25th JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship here on Sunday.

The last race and final few laps saw high adrenaline action as Chennai-based Ashwin, Saran Vikram Tmars and Arya Singh were engaged in a great chase at the 2.3km circuit.

The weather was pleasant and the drivers were able to push hard with their machines as the audience cheered them on. “This is probably the closest championship JK (Tyre) has ever seen in 25 years,” an elated Ashwin, who won the last race with a timing of 27:46.956, said in a release.

“Going into the final race, only one point had separated the top two. I was leading comfortably and then the safety car came in. It slashed my lead and Arya overtook.

“I did not give up, put my head down and gave my best. I would never forget this moment and this day in my entire life.” It all boiled down to the last race in the JK Tyre Novice Cup category as well with Kyle Kumaran showcasing his control at the wheels.

He finished second behind MSport’s Dhruvh Goswami but still went on to seal the championship.

In a close race, Dhruvh finished the 10-lap race in 15:47.703. Kyle was marginally behind at 15:52.395. The second place in the championship went to Vinith Kumar.

Kyle, who won two races on Saturday, was strategic on Sunday. He knew finishing the race was more important than being reckless.

As he came in second, he knew he had already sealed the championship, as he stood at a tally of 66 points aggregate.

For the teenager from Chennai who has emerged from karting and graduated to racing formula cars, this was a big day. Vinith had 60 points total.

The DTS Racing Team won the first two spots and also clinched the constructors championship.

In Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup, Sudheer Sudhakar from Delhi won the 10 lap race clocking 14:00.738. At second place came Anish D Shetty from Bengaluru; while Allwin Xavier came third.

In Endurance League Cup, Abhishek V and Amarnath Menon came out on top. The pair of Jeoffrey Reviven and Johann Reeves was second. Third place was taken by Jayanth Prathipati and Alwin Sundar. The total time was one hour of endurance on bikes.

Source: PTI News


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news