England name preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

cricket

England name preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
spogonews
2021-09-09 05:15 PM
0 min read

(Cricket news) Chris Silverwood, England Men’s Cricket team’s head coach has named his 15 player preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 which will be held in the UAE and Oman.

England preliminary ICC Men's T20 World Cup Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Tymal Mills (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Travelling Reserves

Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), James Vince (Hampshire).

Tymal Mills is set to make a return to the England team for the first time since February 2017 after impressing at the Vitality T20 Blast. His skills at The Hundred also helped Southern Brave lift the inaugural trophy.

Ben Stokes continues to take an indefinite break from cricket and is excluded from the 15 player squad. England have until 10th October to finalize the players ahead of the tournament.

England Men's Head Coach, Chris Silverwood, said: "We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup. I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world.

"Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all the skills to succeed at this level. His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave's respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage. He will add variety to our bowling unit, and we can't wait to see him play in a major international tournament."

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 – England’s Group Fixtures:

England v West Indies, Saturday 23 October 2021, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 3.00pm BST)

England v Qualifier (B2), Wednesday 27 October 2021, Abu Dhabi (2.00pm GST / 11.00am BST)

England v Australia, Saturday 30 October 2021, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 3.00pm BST)

England v Qualifier (A1), Monday 1 November 2021, Sharjah (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)

England v South Africa, Saturday 6 November 2021, Sharjah (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)

Semi-finals

First semi-final, Wednesday 10 November, Abu Dhabi (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)

Second semi-final, Thursday 11 November, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)

Final

Final, Sunday 14 November, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)

Also read: Another member of India's support staff tests positive, team cancels practice