Brigade Cricket Club beat Cork Harlequins to win their first Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup


Brigade Cricket Club beat Cork Harlequins to win their first Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup
2021-08-23 04:45 PM
0 min read

DUBLIN – (Cricket news) Brigade Cricket Club led by their Captain Andy Brittonto won the cup after a drama-filled title decider against Cork Harlequins in the men’s Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup Final at Observatory Lane in Rathmines.

After his semi-final heroics during which he claimed 2-19 and scored 42*Britton came up with another decisive all-round performance - scoring a valuable 16 from 14 balls in the first innings, he made his most telling contribution in the second when finished with the figures of  4-28 from his 4 overs, which included a sensational caught and bowled.

The Munster side restricted Brigade to 125-8 from their 20 overs after a brilliant bowling display. The total  was looking a lot less defensible until Ryan Barr hit three big sixes in the 19th over and gave his struggling side a target to defend.

Earlier in the day Cork Harlequins won the toss under heavy grey skies and elected to bowl first on a ground that had experienced very damp conditions in the build-up to the game.

Also read: Stabbing him in the back: Usman Khawaja slams players, backs coach Justin Langer

Both sides seemed to be feeling the nerves with so much at stake. Brigade struggled through the opening power play, being held to 32-2 courtesy of some tight bowling by Adam Hickey and Zubair Hassan Khan. Opener David Murdock departed for 23 after getting a good start as the Harlequins bowlers looked to keep the pressure on during the middle overs – with Brandon Kruger (1-21) and Matt Brewster (1-16) bowling tight lines.

Britton hit two important boundaries in his brief stay, but his dismissal with the score on 85 was followed by a fifth wicket one run later. Looking shaky, it was then that a pivotal partnership came together that eventually made the difference between the two sides. Ross Allen (10) and Barr (26) put on 36 in 18 balls to put Brigade in with a competitive shout – Barr particularly took full toll on Hassan Khan’s fourth over with those three big sixes signalling a momentum shift in the match. Senan Jones picked up two wickets off the first two balls of the last over, and Brigade finished on 125-8.

The second innings saw a similar pattern to the first, with Cork Harlequins struggling in the power play after fantastic spells from Andy Britton, Ryan Macbeth and Iftikar Hussain left Harlequins struggling at 24-3. Arguably, while Britton claimed four wickets, it was Hussain’s 1-14 from four overs that contributed as much to the increasing pressure Harlequins felt.

A strong 42-run stand between Mubeen Ali (26 off 22) and Jack Buss (17 off 22) led a hoped-for comeback by the Cork batters – getting their side into a potentially achievable position requiring 46 runs from their final 30 deliveries, but a great display of death bowling from Britton sealed the Brigade win and his Player of the Match award.

Brigade, two time winners of the Irish Senior Cup in the 1990s - were crowned 2021 Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup winners for the first time.


Brigade Cricket Club v Cork Harlequins, All-Ireland T20 Cup Final, Observatory Lane, Rathmines, 22 August 2021

Brigade 125-8 (20 overs; R Barr 26, D Murdock 23; Z Hassan Khan 3-39)

Harlequins 117-9 (20 overs; M Ali 26, J Buss 17; A Britton 4-28)

Brigade won by 8 runs