Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

After India's historic tour whitewash against England in the multi format series recently, the cricketers and fans are all set for the Indian Premier League. The cricketing extravaganza which is returning to India after 2 years will begin from April 9. As the IPL countdown begins we list the top 5 of highest run getters in the IPL history.

virat-kohli Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

1. Virat Kohli

Just like any other cricketing list, Virat Kohli tops the list of highest run getters in the Indian Premier League too. The dashing Indian skipper in his 184 innings has scored 5878 runs with a strike rate of 130.73. Playing for his franchise the Royal Challengers Bangalore right since the first season from 2008, he has smashed 5 centuries so far and has been adjudged Man of the match 13 times. Kohli was also awarded the Orange Cap – The honour bestowed upon the highest run scorer in every season in the year 2016 for his insane form where he smashed a jaw dropping 973 runs in 16 matches. Despite giving it all, the modern day great is yet to get his hands on the coveted IPL trophy. Riding on the back of his England tour whitewash, his fans will really hope that this could be the year for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

suresh-raina Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

2. Suresh Raina

Chennai Super Kings stalwart and 'Chinna Thala' Suresh Raina has been one of the most consistent players in the IPL history. Playing for Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Lions, Raina in his 189 innings has scored 5368 runs with a strike rate of 137.14 runs. The 34 year old left hander has played a crucial role in CSK's title victories 3 times in the years 2010, 2011 and 2018. Raina has been awarded the man of the match 14 times. After missing from action in the last season, CSK fans will pin their hopes on him to bring back their lost glory in the IPL, after enduring a season to forget in 2020.

david-warner Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

3. David Warner

The power hitter from Australia is the third highest run scorer in the Indian Premier league. Warner, who enjoys a massive popularity in India has represented two franchises so far – The Delhi Capitals and SunRisers Hyderabad, the team he is currently leading. In his 142 innings, the left hander has scored 5254 runs so far with the highest score of 126 and has been picked as player of the match 17 times. He averages a brilliant 42.71 with a strike rate of 141.54 having smashed 4 centuries. Warner has been awarded the Orange Cap thrice – more than any other player in the years 2019, 2017 and 2015 and has led the SunRisers Hyderabad to title victory in 2016.

rohit-sharma Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

4. Rohit Sharma

The most successful IPL captain, Rohit Sharma has 5 trophies for Mumbai Indians under his belt, In his 195 outings, hitman Rohit Sharma has scored 5230 runs with the strike rate of 130.61. He had been awarded the player of the match 18 times. Sharma also played for the now terminated Deccan Chargers team in the first 3 seasons. All eyes will be on the defending champions Mumbai Indians as they will hunt for their 6th IPL title along with a title hattrick this year.

shikhar-dhawan Top five highest run scorers in the Indian Premier League

5. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan has represented quite a few teams like the Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, SunRisers Hyderabad and presently the Delhi Capitals. Sitting at no. 5 in the list of highest IPL run getters, the stylish Southpaw has scored 5197 runs in 175 innings with two stunning centuries. He averages 34.41 with a strike rate of 126.87. Besides, Dhawan has 8 man of the match honours to his name.


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply