Nikin Jose’s half-century helps Karnataka seize advantage against Chhattisgarh

Bengaluru, Jan 5 (PTI) S J Nikin Jose’s 67-run knock played a huge role in Karnataka securing the first innings lead on the third day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match against Chhattisgarh here on Thursday.

Resuming at the overnight 202 for 1, Karnataka skipper Mayank Agarwal fell to Sumit Ruikar for 117, adding only 15 runs to his score.

There was a period when the visiting team bounced back strongly and kept the scoring in check. The Chhattisgarh bowlers hit back with wickets at regular intervals to reduce the home team to 287 for 6 and a sniff of a first innings lead.

The highly-rated 22-year old Jose (134 balls, 8 fours, 1 six) then got together with K Gowtham (18) for a 33-run stand for the seventh wicket to take Karnataka past the opponent’s first innings score of 311.

Jose added 26 runs with last man Vidwath Kaverappa, who did not make a single run, and ensured that the team went ahead by 55 runs.

In the second innings, Chhattisgarh lost their openers without a run on the board as Kaverappa and V Koushik removed Avnish Singh and A G Tiwary.

Ashutosh Singh (8 batting) and Amandeep Khare (23 batting) ensured that no further damage was done as they closed the day at 35 for 2, still 20 runs behind.

Brief scores: At Bengaluru: Chhattisgarh 311 all out in 121.4 overs and 35 for 2 in 20 overs vs Karnataka 366 all out in 109.3 overs (Mayank Agarwal 117, R Samarth 81, S J Nikin Jose 67, Ajay Mandal 4/93, Sumit Ruikar 2/73).

At Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala 265 all out in 95.3 overs (Rohan Prem 112, Lakshay Garg 4/44) and 172 for 6 in 55 overs (Rohan Prem 68 batting, Mohit Redkar 3/56) vs Goa 311 all out in 110.2 overs (Ishan Gadekar 105 (200 balls, 7×4, 1×6), Darshan Misal 43, Siddhesh Lad 35. Jalaj Saxena 5/103, Sijomon Joseph 3/52).

At Delhi: Pondicherry 216 all out in 62.4 overs (K B Arun Karthick 58) and 128 for 6 in 41 overs (K B Arun Karthick 36 batting) vs Services 466 for 7 declared in 129 overs (Rahul Singh Gahlaut 137 (191 balls, 14×4, 3×6), Rajat Paliwal 101 (183 balls, 9×4), L S Kumar 83 not out, Pulkit Narang 45, Ankit Sharma 3/80).

At Jaipur: Jharkhand 92 all out in 47 overs (Aryaman Sen 39, Aniket Choudhary 4/16, Tanveer Ul-Haq 4/42) and 330 for 6 in 110 overs (Aryaman Sen 119, Saurabh Tiwary 78, Kumar Deobrat 48, RR Singh 3/73) vs Rajasthan 287 all out in 81.2 overs (Karan Lamba 122 (184 balls, 14×4, 3×6), Ashish Kumar 5/75, Supriyo Chakraborty 3/51).

Source: PTI News


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply