Mumbai City FC crowned Hero Indian Super League champion

According to a press release by Indian Super League, Mumbai City FC showcased their dominance in the seventh season of the Hero Indian Super League with an impressive 2-1 victory over ATK Mohun Bagan at the Fatorda Stadium on Saturday, bagging an extraordinary achievement of winning the season title along with the League Shield. Sergio Lobera’s side clinched two trophies in two weeks becoming only the second team to top the group stage and win the title. Following a Tiri own goal (29′) that dragged Mumbai level, Bipin Singh scored a 90th-minute winner. Bagan had previously taken the lead through David Williams (18′). Mumbai carried on with their usual possession-based game but for Bagan who were out of the blocks early, it was all about surging ahead. With the islanders having around 60% possession during the first quarter, Bagan had more shots on target. The game saw an early penalty call when Bipin Singh was challenged in the box by Pritam Kotal, but the referee displayed no interest. Pinning their counterparts with a high pressing game, the Kolkata team forced the Islanders into errors. A Javier Hernandez free-kick brushed the crossbar to set the first alarm for Mumbai City FC. Amrinder Singh was forced to save from a tight angle by Roy Krishna as well. While the pressure mounted on Mumbai’s defence, the deadlock was first broken by the Kolkata side. Dispossessing Ahmed Jahouh just outside the box, Krishna slipped a pass to Williams. Getting on to his stronger right foot, the Australian launched a firm shot past Amrinder. Nevertheless, with Jahouh and his trademark long deliveries, it was always going to get tough for ATKMB and with one such move, the Islanders bounced back in the game. Jahouh played a long ball from his own half into the Kolkata box, on seeing Bipin make a run upfront. Tiri tried for a clearance but his header landed in his own goal. After the restart, Mumbai continued with attack and Raynier Fernandes forced yet another save from Arindam after getting into the area dodging past the challenges from Kolkata defence. The Bagan keeper then pulled up a brilliant save to deny Hernan Santana from a free-kick. Mumbai probably had the best chance of the game at the hour mark. Le Fondre’s shot was blocked by Arindam, however the rebound traveled to Boumous, whose shot was off-target. Hernandez’s freekick deflected off Mohamad Rakip and into the back of the net but the goal was disallowed by the linesman who caught Krishna offside. After delivering some fine saves, Arindam made a huge error which deprived his side the title. After he failed to deal with a long ball properly, it was chased down by Bartholomew Ogbeche. The ball found its way to Bipin who didn’t fail from close range. Krishna was awarded the Hero of the League and Igor Angulo bagged the Golden Boot while Amrinder took home the Golden Glove award. The DHL Winning Pass of the Season was won by Alberto Noguera while Lalengmawia from NorthEast United was awarded the Emerging Player of the League.


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news