Eurosport India awarded rights to broadcast Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games

Eurosport India awarded rights to broadcast Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games
2021-08-12 01:45 PM
0 min read

(Paralympic news) The Paralympic Committee of India has awarded Eurosport India rights to show LIVE action, delayed broadcast and highlights for Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games on Eurosport India and discovery+, events featuring Indian athletes and teams LIVE on Eurosport India.

Vijay Rajput: The Paralympic Committee of India and Eurosport India have a common vision of helping our para-athletes gain visibility amongst the passionate Indian sporting communities.

Mumbai, 11th August 2021: Eurosport India have been given the rights to broadcast the Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games by the Paralympic Committee of India.

The Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games, set to take place between 24 August and 5 September. Eurosport will broadcast a global multi-sport event for the first time in India and expand on a diverse range of sports already available to fans across its platforms.

The main focus will be on the local heroes, Eurosport India’s coverage of the Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games will start on 27 August with the men’s and women’s archery events at Yumenoshima Park Archery Field. The Eurosport feed will also be LIVE on the discovery+ app for the fans to stay up to speed with all the action from Tokyo.

Eurosport’s coverage of the Paralympics in India, which also includes the online platform of discovery+, will ensure fans are given access to the most inspiring local stories told by the best storytellers to unlock the power of sport and the Games.

Mr Gursharan Singh, Secretary General, Paralympic Committee of India said, “At the brink of a historic National Sporting Movement, our Indian Para Sportsmen are inspired and excited to win glory and pride for the country at the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games. Such honouring moments must and would be shared and celebrated. Indians masses across the globe should be able to bask in the triumphant performance of our Paralympic Stars. Eurosport will be our official Media Broadcasting Partner to share the exciting minute to minute live telecast of the said biggest Para Sporting Event.”

Also read: Delhi High Court refuses to interfere with non-selection of Arjuna Awardee para shuttler Raj Kumar for Tokyo games

Eurosport India shall be the exclusive pay TV partner in the South Asian countries. The rights include showcase of LIVE sports, delayed telecast and highlights across key events in 22 sporting disciplines, treating the Indian sports fans with some scintillating action from the quadrennial sporting spectacle.

Speaking about the association Mr. Vijay Rajput, Senior Vice President – Affiliate sales and Product Distribution, Asia - India Sales & Distribution at Discovery Inc. and Head of Eurosport India, said, “This is a milestone event in the short life of Eurosport India. Eurosport is the Home of Olympics in Europe and our association with the Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games will be the first step towards a similar journey in India.”

“While the Olympics may receive all the glory, and rightfully so this year with a scintillating performance from India, it’s now time to promote our incredible Paralympic athletes who have made the country proud time and again.

The Paralympic Committee of India and Eurosport India have a common vision of helping our athletes gain visibility amongst passionate Indian sporting communities and this association is a testimony of that. We wish the Indian Paralympic squad the very best for the upcoming Summer Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.” he added.

India will be fielding 54 Paralympic athletes participating across nine sporting disciplines which makes its the largest ever Indian contingent. Fans will be able to cheer every Indian hero throughout the Games, including world No.3 and world No.2 Sumit Antil and Sandeep Chaudhary in Javelin; Manish Narwal (10m air pistol), Singhraj (10m air pistol) and Avani Lekhara (10m air rifle, 50m air rifle) in shooting and flagbearer Mariyappan Thangavelu in High Jump.

Badminton will make its debut at the Tokyo 2020 Summer Paralympic Games, which will feature as many as five shuttlers in the men’s category – Pramod Bhagat, Manoj Sarkar, Tarun Dhillon, Suhas Yathiraj and Krishna Nagar alongside the women’s doubles pairing of Parul Parmar, Palak Kohli.