Jehan Daruvala joins last years F2 constructors champions MP Motorsports

Daruvala switches to MP Motorsport to complete 2023 F2 grid
Daruvala joins MP Motosports

(Motorsports news) Jehan Daruvala is set to continue racing in Formula 2 this year and has signed with 2022 F2 constructors champions MP Motorsport for the upcoming season. This will subsequently be his fourth year competing in F2. Daruvala is currently one of the most consistent drivers as he has managed to win at least one race in every F2 season since he made his debut in 2020. Daruvala has collected four wins and 15 podium finishes in his F2 career. After two seasons with Carlin, he made the switch to Prema Racing last year and ended up finishing the season seventh in the F2 Championship, which was ultimately a disappointing season for the Indian racer.

The 24-year-old had his eyes on the title but he did pick up one win at Monza and made eight podium appearances. Last year he also made a number of F1 test appearances as part of McLaren’s Testing programme. He’ll now join MP Motorsport, who won both the teams’ and drivers’ championships in 2022. Daruvala’s move to the Dutch team has long been speculated since he participated in the postseason testing with them last November. He impressed everyone when he clocked the second-fastest time in Day 2’s morning session at Abu Dhabi.

Daruvala is to combine his F2 campaign along with Formula E reserve driver roles. He will continue his role as the Mahindra Racing’s reserve driver for the 2023 Formula E season. As part of his Formula E reserve role, he will be allowed to conduct simulator work with Mahindra engineers and also remain on the standby if Lucas di Grassi or Oliver Rowland are not able to race this. We will see the Indian starboy at pre-season testing for F2 which will take place on February 14-16 in Bahrain

“I’m extremely excited to be racing for MP Motorsport. The team has progressed tremendously and impressed the entire F2 field with their performances last year. They showed consistent front-running pace, wrapped up both the drivers’ and team’s titles and go into the 2023 season as the team to beat,” said Daruvala, who will be reunited with his 2022 teammate Dennis Hauger at MP Motorsport. “I am confident Dennis and I can build on that success and lead the team to more race wins, podiums and, hopefully, championship glory in 2023.”

MP Motorsport team principal Sander Dorsman highlighted that Daruvala’s experience will further help the team. “He has been a consistent frontrunner right from his debut in the category, taking wins in every F2 season he has competed in. His experience will be of great value to the team, so we are very much aiming for a repeat of last year’s form,” he added.

Grid for the 2023 Formula 2 season

MP motorsports:
Dennis Hauger
Jehan Daruvala

Enzo Fittipaldi
Zane Maloney

ART Racing:
Theo Pourchaire
Victor Martins

Prema Racing:
Frederik Vesti
Oliver Bearman

Hitech Racing:
Jak Crawford
Isack Hadjar

Ayumu Iwasa
Arthur Leclerc

Jack Doohan
Amaury Cordeel

PHM by Charouz:
Roy Nissany
Brad Benavides

Trident Racing:
Clement Novalak
Roman Stanek

Van Amersfoort:
Richard Verschoor
Juan Manuel Correa

Campos Racing:
Ralph Boschung
Kush Maini

Also read: Mercedes boss Toto Wolff wants Mick Schumacher to regain permanent seat in F1


Share The Article:

Leave A Reply

Related news