Fans vote Diana Taurasi as greatest ever WNBA player


Fans vote Diana Taurasi as greatest ever WNBA player
2021-10-12 01:00 PM
0 min read

(Basketball news) Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi has been voted the league's greatest of all time (GOAT) by the fans. The ‘Vote for the GOAT’ was a part of the WNBA’s celebration for it’s landmark 25th season and Taurasi was announced as the greatest player in WNBA history ahead of Game 1 of the WNBA finals 2021.

WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert said “Congratulations to Diana Taurasi on being voted as the Greatest WNBA player of all time by the fans who have followed her illustrious career and saw her rise above the rest. This well-deserved recognition reflects her sustained excellence on the court and her leading role in advancing the WNBA and women's basketball and being a role model for young athletes everywhere. The opportunity to honor Dee is yet another special moment in celebration of our historic 25th season."

Taurasi has achieved many records in the WNBA, most notably, she is the league’s career leader in points, field goals made and three-point field goals in the regular season and playoffs. Nobody in the league's history has as many All WNBA Team selections than Taurasi (14) and she is tied in second place with 10 WNBA All-Star selections.

Taurasi has a legacy at Phoenix Mercury, having spent the entirety of her 17 year long WNBA career and winning three WNBA Championships and two WNBA Finals Most Valuable Player awards. Since her selection at the 2004 WNBA draft, she has averaged 19.4 points, 4.3 assists and 4.0 rebounds in 472 games and has earned one regular season WNBA MVP award.

The voting to determine the greatest WNBA player was conducted on, Twitter and WNBA app between September 5th to 19th. It included 10 current players, namely Sue Bird, Tina Charles, Elena Delle Donne, Sylvia Fowles, Brittney Griner, Angel McCoughtry, Nneka Ogwumike, Candace Parker, Breanna Stewart and Diana Taurasi. The list also included 15 retired players such as Seimone Augustus, Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Cynthia Cooper, Yolanda Griffith, Becky Hammon, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Maya Moore, Ticha Penicheiro, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Smith, Sheryl Swoopes, Tina Thompson and Lindsay Whalen.

Taurasi will receive a one-of-a-kind commemorative trophy, a basketball made up of resin and marble with white mamba scales and inscriptions recognizing her achievements for being named the GOAT. 

Also read: Basketball player Pau Gasol announces retirement after 23 year long playing career