England cricket squad announced for IT20 series against Sri Lank

England cricket squad announced for IT20 series against Sri Lank
2021-06-12 06:40 PM
0 min read

Chris Silverwood, the England Men’s Head Coach has picked a 16-member squad for The Vitality IT20 Series against Sri Lanka commencing from Wednesday, 23 June 2021 at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

England IT20 Squad

Eoin Morgan (Captain)

Moeen Ali 

Jonathan Bairstow 

Sam Billings 

Jos Buttler 

Sam Curran 

Tom Curran

Liam Dawson 

Chris Jordan 

Liam Livingstone 

Dawid Malan 

Adil Rashid 

Jason Roy 

David Willey 

Chris Woakes 

Mark Wood 

All-rounder Chris Woakes received a call up in the squad for the first time since 2015. His last international game in this format was against Pakistan in November 2015, while seamer David Willey last competed at this stage in May 2019 .

Spinner Liam Dawson, who last represented England in an IT20 in February 2018 in New Zealand, is one of three specialist spinners picked.

Players like all-rounder Ben Stokes (fractured finger), seamer Jofra Archer (right elbow) and Surrey’s Reece Topley (side strain) were not considered for selection due to their current injuries.

England Men’s Head Coach, Chris Silverwood, said: “With the T20 World Cup only a few months away, this summer is about perfecting our team and continue to progress on the field. We want to approach every series with an influx of players aiming to win every match and giving us the best preparation as we get closer to the tournament.

“With several high-profile players missing through injury, it allows me to look at some of our experienced players who have not featured at this level for some time. The likes of Chris Woakes and David Willey are very experienced cricketers, and to have them both in the mix is exciting and shows the depth of squad we have available.

“I want our team to play an attacking form of the game. I hope we can continue to excite the England fans with our approach.”

The Vitality IT20 Series

1st IT20: England v Sri Lanka, Wednesday 23 June 2021, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (6.30pm BST)

2nd IT20: England v Sri Lanka, Thursday 24 June 2021, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (6.30pm BST)

3rd IT20: England v Sri Lanka, Saturday 26 June 2021, Ageas Bowl, Southampton (2.30pm BST)